REVIEW: Mellow Mushroom

Standard

If you’ve ever driven up and down Shelbyville Rd., you’ve more than likely noticed the obnoxious purple, psychedelic building next door to Molly Malones. This my friends is Mellow Mushroom. After a long Saturday night, Sunday afternoon my boyfriend and I were craving greasy food so we finally decided to give this place a try.

Wow we were not disappointed. If you aren’t familiar with Mellow Mushroom, it is primarily a pizza joint but this is definitely NOT Papa Johns. Mellow Mushroom offers a variety of tasty premiere ingredient combinations for their pizza pies, but don’t fret if you aren’t a pizza fan! Mellow Mushroom also has a variety of salads and calzones to meet your needs. Also if you are 21, the beer selection at the bar is massive and a true beer lovers heaven.

Trey and I decided to each get a Hoegaarden and then half an order (3) of their soft pretzels which were absolutely amazing. I am a huge soft pretzel lover and I thought these were almost as good as the pretzels at Hofbrauhaus. For pizza, we chose to get a 10′ half Mellowterranean and half House Special. I was happy with our selection and we were absolutely stuffed by the end of our meal. I couldn’t help but notice to all of the other interesting choices on the menu. Mellow Mushroom offers pizza with tofu, pesto, chicken, feta, and you can even create your own pizza!

The decor is awesome in the ‘shroom as well, it has a very laid and welcoming atmosphere. Lots of cool artwork hangs on the walls and I couldn’t help but notice that they have open air doors for when warmer weather arrives. This will definitely be a place that I can see myself going to this summer (plus it’s close to the St. Matthews bars). Mellow Mushroom definitely gets a thumbs up in my book and you should check it out too! They are located at 3920 Shelbyville Rd and are open Sunday – Thursday 11am – 12am and Friday – Saturday 11am – 2am. Go check them out!

http://mellowmushroom.com

One thought on “REVIEW: Mellow Mushroom

Leave a comment